Audiobooks From Slate logo

Audiobook

Caul Baby

By Morgan Jerkins

List Price: 26.99

New York Times bestselling author Morgan Jerkins's fiction debut, an electrifying novel for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates and Jacqueline Woodson, that brings to life one powerful and enigmatic family in a tale rife with secrets, betrayal, intrigue, and magic.

Laila desperately wants to become a mother, but each of her previous pregnancies has ended in heartbreak. This time has to be different, so she turns to the Melancons, an old and powerful Harlem family known for their caul, a precious layer of skin that is the secret source of their healing power.

When a deal for Laila to acquire a piece of caul falls through, she is heartbroken, but when the child is stillborn, she is overcome with grief and rage. What she doesn't know is that a baby will soon be delivered in her family by her niece, Amara, an ambitious college student and delivered to the Melancons to raise as one of their own. Hallow is special: she's born with a caul, and their matriarch, Maman, predicts the girl will restore the family's prosperity.

Growing up, Hallow feels that something in her life is not right. Did Josephine, the woman she calls mother, really bring her into the world? Why does her cousin Helena get to go to school and roam the streets of New York freely while she's confined to the family's decrepit brownstone?

As the Melancons' thirst to maintain their status grows, Amara, now a successful lawyer running for district attorney, looks for a way to avenge her longstanding grudge against the family. When mother and daughter cross paths, Hallow will be forced to decide where she truly belongs.

Engrossing, unique, and page-turning, Caul Baby illuminates the search for familial connection, the enduring power of tradition, and the dark corners of the human heart

ISBN: 9780063070431
Published: April 6th, 2021
By: Morgan Jerkins
Read by: Joniece Abbott-Pratt

©2021 Jerkins (P) 2021 HarperCollins Audio

Listen in these apps:

  • Apple Podcasts
  • Google Podcasts
  • Overcast
  • Pocket Casts
  • iTunes
  • Podcast Addict

Buy

By purchasing, you agree to the terms of use and privacy policy.

FAQ

How will I listen to my exclusive podcast or audiobook?

You can listen in your preferred podcast app.

Can I use my current podcast app?

We support Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Overcast, Pocketcasts, Podcast Addict, Castbox, BeyondPod, Downcast, PlayerFM, Breaker, and RadioPublic.

Sorry, but we do not support Stitcher, Spotify, Podbean, or NPR One.

You’ll also be able to listen to your audiobook or podcast purchase online.

What types of payment do you accept?

You can pay with any major credit cards, as well as Apple Pay on iOS and Google Pay on Android.

Who made this?

Your seamless listening experience is powered by Supporting Cast. Contact help@supportingcast.fm for support.

Wait, I don't understand—I can use a podcast app to listen to an audiobook?

Yup, that’s right! Listen to audiobooks in the same place you spend hours listening to your favorite podcasts. No new apps to download, no subscription fees. You get lower prices, too, because nobody had to build a fancy new app.

I don't see the book I'm looking for.

Browse our catalog to see all books currently on sale.

The store just launched, so please excuse our appearance as we continue to build out the site navigation and shopping cart experience.

Why should I buy my audiobooks from Slate and Supporting Cast?

Learn more about the store here.